District Governing Board retains officers for second consecutive year

4 governing board members

4 governing board membersPALATKA, Fla., Nov. 8, 2022 —The St. Johns River Water Management District’s Governing Board re-elected Sen. Rob Bradley of Fleming Island to serve as its chair for a second year. The Board also elected Maryam Ghyabi-White of Ormond Beach to serve as vice chair; Ron Howse of Cocoa as treasurer; and J. Chris Peterson of Winter Park as secretary.

The nine-member Governing Board sets District policies and meets monthly with staff and members of the public to discuss District operations. The members bring years of experience and expertise in agriculture, environmental protection, consulting, geology, business, recreation, transportation and law, and represent different geographical areas across the District’s 18-county region.

The other board members are Gen. Douglas Burnett of St. Augustine, Douglas C. Bournique of Vero Beach, Cole Oliver of Merritt Island, Ryan Atwood of Mount Dora and Janet Price of Fernandina Beach.

Board members are appointed by the governor to four-year terms and serve without pay.

Board member profiles and photos are available on the District website at www.sjrwmd.com/governingboard.