District recognized for excellence in customer service, collaboration and electronic permitting

PALATKA, Fla., Feb. 4, 2016 –For the second time in four years, the St. Johns River Water Management District’s permitting program is being recognized for excellence by the Economic Development Commission (EDC) of Florida’s Space Coast in Brevard County.

“By simplifying and streamlining our permitting processes, the district has partnered with local governments in their quest to attract new economic opportunities and retain existing businesses,” said district Executive Director Ann Shortelle. “On a daily basis, we aim to strike the right balance in water resource protection and meeting the public’s water needs. We are very honored the agency is being recognized for efficient permitting and especially for exceptional customer service and collaboration.”

During a ceremony on Feb. 3, the district received the EDC’s S.N.A.P. (Simplified, Nimble, Accelerated Permitting) designation for outstanding customer service, quick turnarounds, electronic submittals and effective collaboration with applicants, consultants and the general public. The designation is typically bestowed upon municipalities that have demonstrated streamlined and efficient permitting processes.”

The drive to achieve economic sustainability and remain competitive takes more than one organization,” said Lynda Weatherman, president and CEO of the EDC. “It requires an important partnership between the EDC and the local municipalities to work together and find solutions. I applaud St. Johns River Water Management District for their commitment and dedication to ensure a high level of best practices.”

The S.N.A.P. program is the result of a strategic effort to enhance and streamline permitting processes throughout Brevard County. Efficient, streamlined permitting processes enhance the ability to attract new business and investment as well as retain existing businesses and encourage expansion.

The EDC Development Council is comprised of industry leaders representing the development, engineering, architectural, building and contracting fields and recognizes municipalities that have adopted permitting best practices as determined by the council and other participating municipalities.